Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Kansas

Time Zone: Brown County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hiawatha is the Seat for Brown County.

Brown County was founded August 25, 1855.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Brown had a population of 9,927 people. This is a decrease of 7.43% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,724 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Brown represented 0.4% of the total population of Kansas, making it the state's 40th most populous county (out of 105 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20109,984-6.9%+0.57% since 2009
20099,927-7.43%-0.61% since 2008
20089,988-6.86%-0.34% since 2007
200010,724The Last Census

More information can be found on the Brown County Census Page for Brown County.


Below are some of the communities located in Brown County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Brown County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Hiawatha   3,1823,4176.88% decrease  
Horton   1,7821,9679.41% decrease  
Everest   2943146.37% decrease  
Fairview   2502717.75% decrease  
Morrill   24427711.91% decrease  

Websites for Brown County

Official Website:   www.brown.kansasgov.com/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Brown County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Kansas

Search for a Community in Kansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation