Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Indiana

Time Zone: Whitley County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Columbia City is the Seat for Whitley County.

Whitley County was founded February 7, 1835.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Whitley had a population of 32,861 people. This is an increase of 7.01% since the last Census (which gave a population of 30,707 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Whitley represented 0.51% of the total population of Indiana, making it the state's 52nd most populous county (out of 92 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201033,292+8.42%+1.31% since 2009
200932,861+7.01%+0.35% since 2008
200832,748+6.65%+0.56% since 2007
200030,707The Last Census

More information can be found on the Whitley County Census Page for Whitley County.


Below are some of the communities located in Whitley County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Whitley County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Columbia City   8,3697,07718.26% increase  
South Whitley   1,8461,7823.59% increase  
Churubusco   1,8071,6668.46% increase  
Larwill   2792821.06% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Indiana

Communities in Indiana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation