Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Indiana

Time Zone: Montgomery County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Crawfordsville is the Seat for Montgomery County.

Montgomery County was founded December 21, 1822.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Montgomery had a population of 37,862 people. This is an increase of 0.62% since the last Census (which gave a population of 37,629 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Montgomery represented 0.62% of the total population of Indiana, making it the state's 40th most populous county (out of 92 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201038,124+1.32%+0.69% since 2009
200037,629The Last Census

More information can be found on the Montgomery County Census Page for Montgomery County.


Below are some of the communities located in Montgomery County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Montgomery County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Crawfordsville   15,09015,2431% decrease  
Ladoga   1,0651,0471.72% increase  
Waynetown   8809093.19% decrease  
Darlington   8288543.04% decrease  
Linden   7087001.14% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Indiana

Search for a Community in Indiana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation