Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Indiana

Time Zone: Marion County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Indianapolis is the Seat for Marion County. Indianapolis is also the capital of Indiana.

Marion County was founded December 31, 1821.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Marion had a population of 890,879 people. This is an increase of 3.54% since the last Census (which gave a population of 860,454 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Marion represented 14.15% of the total population of Indiana, making it the state's most populous county (out of 92 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010903,393+4.99%+1.4% since 2009
2009890,879+3.54%+0.88% since 2008
2008883,107+2.63%+0.56% since 2007
2000860,454The Last Census

More information can be found on the Marion County Census Page for Marion County.


Below are some of the communities located in Marion County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Marion County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Indianapolis   807,584781,8703.29% increase  
Lawrence   44,10738,91513.34% increase  
Beech Grove   14,47314,8802.74% decrease  
Speedway   12,73512,8811.13% decrease  
Southport   1,7791,8523.94% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Indiana

Search for a Community located in Indiana

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation