Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Illinois

Time Zone: Warren County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Monmouth is the Seat for Warren County.

Warren County was founded in 1825 and was created by taking area from SchuylerCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Warren had a population of 17,409 people. This is a decrease of 7.08% since the last Census (which gave a population of 18,735 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Warren represented 0.15% of the total population of Illinois, making it the state's 62nd most populous county (out of 102 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201017,707-5.49%+1.71% since 2009
200817,411-7.07%-1.02% since 2007
200018,735The Last Census

More information can be found on the Warren County Census Page for Warren County.


Below are some of the communities located in Warren County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Warren County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Monmouth   9,2449,8416.07% decrease  
Roseville   9701,08310.43% decrease  
Kirkwood   70179411.71% decrease  
Little York   2452698.92% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Illinois

Communities in Illinois

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation