Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Illinois

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Jonesboro is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded in 1818 and was created by taking area from JohnsonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 18,005 people. This is a decrease of 1.57% since the last Census (which gave a population of 18,293 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.15% of the total population of Illinois, making it the state's 63rd most populous county (out of 102 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201017,808-2.65%-1.09% since 2009
200918,005-1.57%-0.21% since 2008
200818,042-1.37%-0.45% since 2007
200018,293The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Below are some of the communities located in Union County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Union County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Anna   4,9425,1363.78% decrease  
Jonesboro   1,7831,8533.78% decrease  
Cobden   1,0851,1162.78% decrease  
Dongola   7808063.23% decrease  
Alto Pass   3793882.32% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Illinois

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Illinois

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation