Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Illinois

Time Zone: Morgan County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Jacksonville is the Seat for Morgan County.

Morgan County was founded in 1823 and was created by taking area from SangamonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Morgan had a population of 34,897 people. This is a decrease of 4.69% since the last Census (which gave a population of 36,616 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Morgan represented 0.29% of the total population of Illinois, making it the state's 39th most populous county (out of 102 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201035,547-2.92%+1.86% since 2009
200934,897-4.69%-0.71% since 2008
200835,147-4.01%-0.6% since 2007
200036,616The Last Census

More information can be found on the Morgan County Census Page for Morgan County.


Below are some of the communities located in Morgan County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Morgan County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Jacksonville   19,21418,9401.45% increase  
South Jacksonville   3,2043,4757.8% decrease  
Waverly   1,2231,3469.14% decrease  
Meredosia   9601,0417.78% decrease  
Murrayville   6136444.81% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Illinois

Find a Community in Illinois

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation