Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Idaho

Time Zone: Franklin County lies in the Mountain Time Zone (MST/MDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Preston is the Seat for Franklin County.

Franklin County was founded in 1913 and was created by taking area from OneidaCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Franklin had a population of 12,676 people. This is an increase of 11.89% since the last Census (which gave a population of 11,329 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Franklin represented 0.88% of the total population of Idaho, making it the state's 24th most populous county (out of 44 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201012,786+12.86%+0.87% since 2009
200912,676+11.89%+1.5% since 2008
200812,489+10.24%+2.52% since 2007
200011,329The Last Census

More information can be found on the Franklin County Census Page for Franklin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Franklin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Franklin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Preston   5,1104,6829.14% increase  
Franklin   6916417.8% increase  
Dayton   --444 
Weston   4404253.53% increase  
Clifton   23921312.21% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Idaho

The Communities of Idaho

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation