Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Van Buren County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Keosauqua is the Seat for Van Buren County.

Van Buren County was founded December 7, 1836 and was created by taking area from Des MoinesCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Van Buren had a population of 7,679 people. This is a decrease of 1.66% since the last Census (which gave a population of 7,809 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Van Buren represented 0.27% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 93rd most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20107,570-3.06%-1.42% since 2009
20097,679-1.66%-0.14% since 2008
20087,690-1.52%+0.18% since 2007
20007,809The Last Census

More information can be found on the Van Buren County Census Page for Van Buren County.


Below are some of the communities located in Van Buren County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Van Buren County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Keosauqua   1,0831,0661.59% increase  
Farmington   7197564.89% decrease  
Milton   49155010.73% decrease  
Bonaparte   4444583.06% decrease  
Birmingham   4214230.47% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Find a Community in Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation