Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Union County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Creston is the Seat for Union County.

Union County was founded January 15, 1851 and was created by taking area from ClarkeCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Union had a population of 12,241 people. This is a decrease of 0.55% since the last Census (which gave a population of 12,309 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Union represented 0.42% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 65th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201012,534+1.83%+2.39% since 2009
200912,241-0.55%+0.72% since 2008
200812,154-1.26%+0.85% since 2007
200012,309The Last Census

More information can be found on the Union County Census Page for Union County.


Below are some of the communities located in Union County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Union County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Creston   7,5567,5970.54% decrease  
Afton   8989172.07% decrease  
Lorimor   4164272.58% decrease  
Cromwell   --120 
Arispe   96897.87% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Cities, Towns and Villages of Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation