Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Lucas County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Chariton is the Seat for Lucas County.

Lucas County was founded January 13, 1846 and was created by taking area from MonroeCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Lucas had a population of 9,179 people. This is a decrease of 2.58% since the last Census (which gave a population of 9,422 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Lucas represented 0.32% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 83rd most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,898-5.56%-3.06% since 2009
20099,179-2.58%-1.69% since 2008
20089,337-0.9%-1.27% since 2007
20009,422The Last Census

More information can be found on the Lucas County Census Page for Lucas County.


Below are some of the communities located in Lucas County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Lucas County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Chariton   4,3484,5734.92% decrease  
Russell   5605590.18% increase  
Lucas   --243 
Williamson   1571633.68% decrease  
Derby   --131 

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Find a Community in Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation