Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Keokuk County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Sigourney is the Seat for Keokuk County.

Keokuk County was founded December 21, 1837 and was created by taking area from WashingtonCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Keokuk had a population of 10,562 people. This is a decrease of 7.35% since the last Census (which gave a population of 11,400 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Keokuk represented 0.39% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 72nd most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,511-7.8%-0.48% since 2009
200910,562-7.35%-0.87% since 2008
200810,655-6.54%-0.64% since 2007
200011,400The Last Census

More information can be found on the Keokuk County Census Page for Keokuk County.


Below are some of the communities located in Keokuk County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Keokuk County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Sigourney   2,0622,2096.65% decrease  
Keota   8761,02514.54% decrease  
Hedrick   7948375.14% decrease  
What Cheer   6226788.26% decrease  
Richland   5555875.45% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation