Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Franklin County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Hampton is the Seat for Franklin County.

Franklin County was founded January 15, 1851 and was created by taking area from ChickasawCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Franklin had a population of 10,540 people. This is a decrease of 1.53% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,704 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Franklin represented 0.37% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 77th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201010,680-0.22%+1.33% since 2009
200910,540-1.53%-0.26% since 2008
200810,567-1.28%-0.53% since 2007
200010,704The Last Census

More information can be found on the Franklin County Census Page for Franklin County.


Below are some of the communities located in Franklin County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Franklin County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Hampton   4,1524,2181.56% decrease  
Ackley   1,6481,8098.9% decrease  
Sheffield   1,0049307.96% increase  
Dows   55167518.37% decrease  
Latimer   5395350.75% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

The Communities of Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation