Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Davis County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Bloomfield is the Seat for Davis County.

Davis County was founded February 17, 1843 and was created by taking area from County.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Davis had a population of 8,562 people. This is an increase of 0.25% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,541 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Davis represented 0.29% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 87th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,753+2.48%+2.23% since 2009
20098,562+0.25%-0.13% since 2008
20008,541The Last Census

More information can be found on the Davis County Census Page for Davis County.


Below are some of the communities located in Davis County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Davis County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Bloomfield   2,5652,6011.38% decrease  
Pulaski   2712498.84% increase  
Drakesville   21618516.76% increase  
Floris   --153 

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Communities in Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation