Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Iowa

Time Zone: Bremer County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Waverly is the Seat for Bremer County.

Bremer County was founded January 15, 1851.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Bremer had a population of 23,460 people. This is an increase of 0.58% since the last Census (which gave a population of 23,325 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Bremer represented 0.8% of the total population of Iowa, making it the state's 26th most populous county (out of 99 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201024,276+4.08%+3.48% since 2009
200923,460+0.58%-0.21% since 2008
200823,509+0.79%-0.52% since 2007
200023,325The Last Census

More information can be found on the Bremer County Census Page for Bremer County.


Below are some of the communities located in Bremer County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Bremer County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Waverly   9,1558,9682.09% increase  
Sumner   1,9692,1066.51% decrease  
Denver   1,6041,6271.41% decrease  
Tripoli   1,2361,3105.65% decrease  
Readlyn   7487864.83% decrease  

Websites for Bremer County

Official Website:   www.co.bremer.ia.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Bremer County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Iowa

Find a Community in Iowa

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation