Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Rabun County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Clayton is the Seat for Rabun County.

Rabun County was founded in 1819.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Rabun had a population of 16,611 people. This is an increase of 10.37% since the last Census (which gave a population of 15,050 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Rabun represented 0.18% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 102nd most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201016,276+8.15%-2.02% since 2009
200916,611+10.37%-0.33% since 2008
200816,666+10.74%+0.62% since 2007
200015,050The Last Census

More information can be found on the Rabun County Census Page for Rabun County.


Below are some of the communities located in Rabun County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Rabun County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Clayton   2,1982,0198.87% increase  
Mountain City   7508299.53% decrease  
Tiger   --316 
Dillard   23419818.18% increase  
Sky Valley   2152212.71% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Search for a Georgia Community

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation