Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Henry County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of McDonough is the Seat for Henry County.

Henry County was founded in 1821.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Henry had a population of 195,370 people. This is an increase of 63.71% since the last Census (which gave a population of 119,341 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Henry represented 1.46% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 12th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
2010203,922+70.87%+4.38% since 2009
2009195,370+63.71%+2.54% since 2008
2008190,529+59.65%+3.04% since 2007
2000119,341The Last Census

More information can be found on the Henry County Census Page for Henry County.


Below are some of the communities located in Henry County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Henry County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
McDonough   19,9288,493134.6% increase  
Stockbridge   14,6799,85348.98% increase  
Hampton   5,3553,85738.84% increase  
Locust Grove   4,9892,322114.9% increase  

Websites for Henry County

Official Website:   www.co.henry.ga.us/

If you know of a history or genealogy society whose interest includes Henry County, would you please send us the URL for their website? We would like to add their link to our Gazetteer. To contact us, please visit our Feedback Page.

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Visit our Community Index for Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation