Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Evans County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Claxton is the Seat for Evans County.

Evans County was founded in 1914. Evans was created by taking area from Bulloch and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Evans had a population of 11,695 people. This is an increase of 11.43% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,495 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Evans represented 0.13% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 122nd most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201011,000+4.81%-5.94% since 2009
200911,695+11.43%+0.93% since 2008
200811,587+10.4%+1.68% since 2007
200010,495The Last Census

More information can be found on the Evans County Census Page for Evans County.


Below are some of the communities located in Evans County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Evans County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Claxton   2,3602,2763.69% increase  
Hagan   1,04789816.59% increase  
Bellville   1401307.69% increase  
Daisy   1371268.73% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

The Communities of Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation