Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Calhoun County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Morgan is the Seat for Calhoun County.

Calhoun County was founded in 1854. Calhoun was created by taking area from Early and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Calhoun had a population of 6,306 people. This is a decrease of 0.22% since the last Census (which gave a population of 6,320 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Calhoun represented 0.08% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 149th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20106,694+5.92%+6.15% since 2009
20096,306-0.22%+2.5% since 2008
20086,152-2.66%+2.74% since 2007
20006,320The Last Census

More information can be found on the Calhoun County Census Page for Calhoun County.


Below are some of the communities located in Calhoun County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Calhoun County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Morgan   1,8861,46428.83% increase  
Arlington   1,4661,6028.49% decrease  
Edison   1,2181,3409.1% decrease  
Leary   6086668.71% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Cities, Towns and Villages of Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation