Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Georgia

Time Zone: Bacon County lies in the Eastern Time Zone (EST/EDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Alma is the Seat for Bacon County.

Bacon County was founded in 1914. Bacon was created by taking area from Appling, and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Bacon had a population of 10,601 people. This is an increase of 4.93% since the last Census (which gave a population of 10,103 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Bacon represented 0.12% of the total population of Georgia, making it the state's 126th most populous county (out of 159 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201011,096+9.83%+4.67% since 2009
200910,601+4.93%+0.66% since 2008
200810,532+4.25%-0.3% since 2007
200010,103The Last Census

More information can be found on the Bacon County Census Page for Bacon County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Georgia

Cities, Towns and Villages of Georgia

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation