Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Ouachita County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Camden is the Seat for Ouachita County.

Ouachita County was founded in 1842 and was created by taking area from UnionCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Ouachita had a population of 25,432 people. This is a decrease of 11.66% since the last Census (which gave a population of 28,790 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Ouachita represented 1.08% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 24th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201026,120-9.27%+2.71% since 2009
200925,432-11.66%-1.11% since 2008
200825,718-10.67%-1.17% since 2007
200028,790The Last Census

More information can be found on the Ouachita County Census Page for Ouachita County.


Below are some of the communities located in Ouachita County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Ouachita County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Camden   11,32013,15413.94% decrease  
Bearden   1,0111,12510.13% decrease  
Stephens   1,0021,15213.02% decrease  
East Camden   76990214.75% decrease  
Chidester   3243353.28% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

The Communities of Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation