Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Newton County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Jasper is the Seat for Newton County.

Newton County was founded in 1842 and was created by taking area from CarrollCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Newton had a population of 8,191 people. This is a decrease of 4.84% since the last Census (which gave a population of 8,608 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Newton represented 0.32% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 71st most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
20108,330-3.23%+1.7% since 2009
20098,191-4.84%-1.24% since 2008
20088,294-3.65%-0.23% since 2007
20008,608The Last Census

More information can be found on the Newton County Census Page for Newton County.


Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Cities, Towns and Villages of Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation