Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Arkansas

Time Zone: Miller County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Texarkana is the Seat for Miller County.

Miller County was founded in 1862 and was created by taking area from LafayetteCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Miller had a population of 43,522 people. This is an increase of 7.61% since the last Census (which gave a population of 40,443 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Miller represented 1.51% of the total population of Arkansas, making it the state's 17th most populous county (out of 75 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201043,462+7.46%-0.14% since 2009
200943,522+7.61%+0.45% since 2008
200843,326+7.13%+0.99% since 2007
200040,443The Last Census

More information can be found on the Miller County Census Page for Miller County.


Below are some of the communities located in Miller County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Miller County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Texarkana   30,22226,44814.27% increase  
Fouke   8658146.27% increase  
Garland   3583521.7% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Index of Cities, Towns and Villages for Arkansas

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation