Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Alabama

Time Zone: Monroe County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Monroeville is the Seat for Monroe County.

Monroe County was founded in 1815.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Monroe had a population of 22,389 people. This is a decrease of 7.96% since the last Census (which gave a population of 24,324 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Monroe represented 0.55% of the total population of Alabama, making it the state's 43rd most populous county (out of 67 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201023,068-5.16%+3.03% since 2009
200922,389-7.96%-1.14% since 2008
200822,648-6.89%-0.49% since 2007
200024,324The Last Census

More information can be found on the Monroe County Census Page for Monroe County.


Below are some of the communities located in Monroe County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Monroe County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Monroeville   6,2856,8628.41% decrease  
Frisco City   1,3311,4608.84% decrease  
Excel   6025823.44% increase  
Beatrice   3844126.8% decrease  
Vredenburgh   3073276.12% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Alabama

Visit our Community Index for Alabama

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation