Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Alabama

Time Zone: Fayette County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Fayette is the Seat for Fayette County.

Fayette County was founded in 1824. Fayette was created by taking area from Marion, , and Counties.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Fayette had a population of 17,371 people. This is a decrease of 6.08% since the last Census (which gave a population of 18,495 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Fayette represented 0.42% of the total population of Alabama, making it the state's 51st most populous county (out of 67 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201017,241-6.78%-0.75% since 2009
200917,371-6.08%-1.17% since 2008
200817,577-4.96%+0.22% since 2007
200018,495The Last Census

More information can be found on the Fayette County Census Page for Fayette County.


Below are some of the communities located in Fayette County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Fayette County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Fayette   4,6574,9225.38% decrease  
Berry   1,1721,2385.33% decrease  
Glen Allen   4684425.88% increase  
Belk   2072143.27% decrease  
Gu-Win   1912046.37% decrease  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Alabama

Cities, Towns and Villages of Alabama

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation