Learn About
The Commemorative
Quarter for
The Commemorative Quarter for Alabama

Time Zone: Autauga County lies in the Central Time Zone (CST/CDT) and observes daylight saving time.

The community of Prattville is the Seat for Autauga County.

Autauga County was founded in 1818 and was created by taking area from MontgomeryCounty.

From the Census Estimates for 2009, <1> Autauga had a population of 50,756 people. This is an increase of 16.22% since the last Census (which gave a population of 43,671 people in 2000).

At the time of the 2000 Census, Autauga represented 0.98% of the total population of Alabama, making it the state's 28th most populous county (out of 67 counties).

The following table shows the recent changes in population. Other than 2000, the population counts have been estimated by the Census Bureau.

Since 2000
Year-to-Year Change
201054,571+24.96%+7.52% since 2009
200950,756+16.22%+0.8% since 2008
200850,354+15.3%+1.04% since 2007
200043,671The Last Census

More information can be found on the Autauga County Census Page for Autauga County.


Below are some of the communities located in Autauga County (for more communities, please visit our Nearby Page for Autauga County):

Community 2009
(2009vs. 2000)
Prattville   32,69624,30334.53% increase  
Millbrook   16,89310,38662.7% increase  
Autaugaville   8778206.95% increase  
Billingsley   1181161.72% increase  

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Alabama

Find a Community in Alabama

Footnotes ...

<1>On a yearly basis, the US Census Bureau creates an estimate of the county's population. Keep in mind that this is an estimate and not an actual count. The last physical count was the 2000 Census and the next count will be for the 2010 Census. For more information, please visit the U.S. Census Bureau.

- Return to Citation

<2>All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint.

- Return to Citation