RoadsideThoughs depends on cookies for its operation. Please refer to our Privacy page for details. By closing this banner or continuing to browse RoadsideThoughts, you agree to the use of cookies.

  RoadsideThoughts
A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada
Community
Index
State
Index
Province
Index
County
Index
State
Quarters
 
Sitemap
>> Time Zones
 
   
 

Time Zones and
Daylight Saving Time


Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time begins on the second Sunday of March at 2:00 AM and ends on the first Sunday of November at 2:00 AM:

For 2013, DST began on March 10th at 2:00 AM and will end on November 3rd at 2:00 AM.

For 2014, DST will begin on March 9th at 2:00 AM and will end on November 2nd at 2:00 AM.

For 2015, DST will begin on March 8th at 2:00 AM and will end on November 1st at 2:00 AM.

For 2016, DST will begin on March 13th at 2:00 AM and will end on November 6th at 2:00 AM.

(See below for additional years.)

The Newfoundland Time Zone has a slightly different definition: DST begins one minute after midnight (12:01 AM) on the second Sunday in March and ends one minute after midnight (12:01 AM) on the first Sunday in November.

Not all communities observe Daylight Saving Time:

Most of Arizona does not observe DST. In northeastern Arizona, the Navajo Nation observes DST and the Hopi Nation (which lies within the Navajo Nation) does not.

Most of Alaska observes DST, but it is not observed in the Aleutian Islands or on Saint Lawrence Island.

Hawaii does not observe DST.

While most of British Columbia observes DST, some eastern communities do not.

Most of Saskatchewan does not observe DST, but some communities do.

In 2007, both the United States and Canada extended the duration of Daylight Saving Time by four weeks. Prior to the change, DST began on the first Sunday of April at 2:00 AM and ended on the last Sunday of October at 2:00 AM.

Time Zones

For the areas covered by our Gazetteer, the eastern-most time zone is the Newfoundland Time Zone and the western-most is the Hawaii-Aleutian Time Zone.

In order from east to west, the Time Zones are:

Time Zone Abbreviation for
Standard / Daylight
If 3:00 PM Eastern,
then Local Time is
 
NewfoundlandNST / NDT4:30 PM
AtlanticAST / ADT4:00 PM
 
EasternEST / EDT3:00 PM
CentralCST / CDT2:00 PM
MountainMST / MDT1:00 PM
PacificPST / PDT12:00 PM
 
AlaskanAKST / AKDT11:00 AM
 
Hawaii-Aleutian HAST / HADT
- or -
HST / HDT
10:00 AM

Past Daylight Saving Times:

The first year of the extended Daylight Saving Time occurred in 2007: It began on the second Sunday of March (the 11th) at 2:00 AM and ended on the first Sunday of November (the 4th) at 2:00 AM.

For the years 1987 to 2006, Daylight Saving Time began on the first Sunday of April at 2:00 AM and ended on the last Sunday of October at 2:00 AM.

For the years 1966 to 1986, Daylight Saving Time began on the last Sunday of April and ended on the last Sunday of October.

Year DST Began DST Ended
 
2013 March 10th November 3rd
2012 March 11th November 5th
2011 March 13th November 6th
 
2010 March 14th November 7th
2009 March 8th November 1st
2008 March 9th November 2nd
 
2007 March 11th November 4th
2006 April 2nd October 29th
2005 April 3rd October 30th
 
2004 April 4th October 31th
2003 April 6th October 26th
 
2002 April 7th October 27th
2001 April 1st October 28th

Future Daylight Saving Times:

Year DST Begins DST Ends
 
 
2014 March 9th November 2nd
2015 March 8th November 1st
2016 March 13th November 6th
 
2017 March 12th November 5th
2018 March 11th November 4th
2019 March 10th November 3rd
 
2020 March 8th November 1st
2021 March 14th November 7th
2022 March 13th November 6th
 
2023 March 12th November 5th
2024 March 10th November 3rd
2025 March 9th November 2nd


 
 
 
 
 
 

Home
Page
Sitemap Privacy
Statement
Terms
of Use
Feedback

 
 

Please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write. Click here to contact us.

Copyright 2016
All Rights Reserved
This page was last modified: 12 Sep 2016
By John Hall