RoadsideThoughs depends on cookies for its operation. Please refer to our Privacy page for details. By closing this banner or continuing to browse RoadsideThoughts, you agree to the use of cookies.

A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada

Commemorative State Quarter
for Oklahoma

<<Ohio (OH)Oregon (OR)>>

The Commemorative State Quarter for Oklahoma
Note: All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint

Coin Issued: January 28, 2008 - the 1st coin released in 2008

Statehood: November 16, 1907 - the 46th State

Inscription: "Oklahoma 1907"

Description: A Scissortail Flycatcher, the State bird, in flight with it's tail feathers spread. Below the bird, to the left and right, are Indian Blanket wildflowers (the State flower).

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2008) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the State-side of the Quarter) was created by Phebe Hemphill.

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Coins Minted:

Denver (D):  194,600,000
Philadelphia (P):  222,000,000
Total:  416,600,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series:

The quarter for the Chickasaw National Recreation Area (located near Sulphur (OK)) will be issued in 2011. It will be the 10th coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series and the last coin issued in 2011.

The following quarters will be issued in 2011: Gettysburg National Military Park (Pennsylvania), Glacier National Park (Montana), Olympic National Park (Washington), Vicksburg National Military Park (Mississippi) & Chickasaw National Recreation Area (Oklahoma).

Coins Issued in 2008

New Mexico
Details for the Oklahoma Commemorative Quarter Details for the New Mexico Commemorative Quarter Details for the Arizona Commemorative Quarter Details for the Alaska Commemorative Quarter Details for the Hawaii Commemorative Quarter

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Oklahoma

Find a Community within Oklahoma

Off-the-Road Links ...

The United States Mint


Sitemap Privacy
of Use


Please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write. Click here to contact us.

Copyright 2016
All Rights Reserved
This page was last modified: 13 Sep 2015
By John Hall