RoadsideThoughs depends on cookies for its operation. Please refer to our Privacy page for details. By closing this banner or continuing to browse RoadsideThoughts, you agree to the use of cookies.

A Gazetteer for the United States and Canada

Commemorative State Quarter
for Arkansas

<<Arizona (AZ)California (CA)>>

The Commemorative State Quarter for Arkansas
Note: All Quarter-dollar coin images from the United States Mint

Coin Issued: October 20, 2003 - the 5th coin released in 2003

Statehood: June 15, 1836 - the 25th State

Inscription: "Arkansas 1836"

Description: A Diamond is located above a lake, with a forest in the background. To the left are stalks of rice and on the right is a Mallard duck.

Arkansas has the oldest diamond mine in the United States and it is the only one open to the public. Visitors to the Crater of Diamonds State Park, which is near Murfreesboro, can search for diamonds and other gems.

Arkansas is the leading producer of Rice in the United States.

At the bottom of the coin is the issue date (2003) and the motto "E Pluribus Unum". The motto is Latin for "Out of Many, One", recognizing that out of the many colonies (or states) emerged a single nation.

Engravers: The Reverse design (the State-side of the Quarter) was created by John Mercanti (search the coin for the engraver's initials: 'jm').

The original Observe design (the front or Washington-side of the Quarter) was created by John Flanagan and first appeared in 1932. For the 50 State Quarters series, Flanagan's design was modified by William Cousins: the portrait of Washington was slightly reduced to accomodate the moving of the legends from the Reverse to the Obverse.

Coin Specifications:

Weight:  0.182 troy ounce [5.670 g]
Diameter:  0.955 in [24.26 mm]
Thickness:  0.069 in [1.75 mm]
Edge:  Reeded with 119 reeds.
Composition:  Cupro-Nickel Clad (91.67% Copper, 8.33% Nickel)

Number of Coins Minted:

Denver (D):  229,800,000
Philadelphia (P):  228,000,000
Total:  457,800,000

America-the-Beautiful Quarter Series:

The quarter for Hot Springs National Park (located at Hot Springs, AR) will be issued in 2010. It will be the first coin (of 56) in the America-the-Beautiful Quarter series.

The following quarters will be issued in 2010: Hot Springs National Park (Arkansas), Yellowstone National Park (Wyoming), Yosemite National Park (California), Grand Canyon National Park (Arizona) & the Mount Hood National Forest (Oregon).

Coins Issued in 2003

Details for the Illinois Commemorative Quarter Details for the Alabama Commemorative Quarter Details for the Maine Commemorative Quarter Details for the Missouri Commemorative Quarter Details for the Arkansas Commemorative Quarter

Other Roadside Stops ...

About Arkansas

Find a Community within Arkansas

Off-the-Road Links ...

The United States Mint


Sitemap Privacy
of Use


Please keep in mind that we can not guarantee the accuracy or timeliness of the information on this website, so use with care. We encourage you to double-check the information that is critical to you.

If you've found an error or have additional information that you would like to share, please don't hesitate to write. Click here to contact us.

Copyright 2016
All Rights Reserved
This page was last modified: 13 Sep 2015
By John Hall